Sigma Gamma Rho

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was organized on November 12, 1922 in Indianapolis, Indiana by seven young educators: Mary Lou Allison Little, Dorothy Hanley Whiteside, Vivian White Marbury, Nannie Mae Gahn Johnson, Hattie Mae Dulin Redford, Bessie M. Downey Martin and Cubena McClure. The group became an incorporated national collegiate sorority on December 30, 1929, when a charter was granted to Alpha chapter at Butler University.

Soaring to greater heights of attainment around the world, Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., as a leading national service organization, has met the challenges of the day and continues to grow through Sisterhood, Scholarship and Service.


The Southeastern Region @ Georgia Tech Colony was started on April 19, 2003 by LaTonya Jackson and Melanie Nelson. After celebrating a “Decade of Progress,” the Sigma Upsilon Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was chartered on April 20, 2013 by Kia Benion, Stefania Lee, Renea Neal, and Lorin Ponton. Today, members continuously strive to uphold the virtues of this esteemed sorority. In effort to continue to uphold the position as a leading national service organization, members of Sigma Gamma Rho actively support and participate in the sorority’s national programs, such as Operation BigBookBag, Wee Savers, and Sigma Youth Symposium. Members of Sigma Upsilon are also active participants in campus organizations such as Student Government Association, National Society of Black Engineers, African American Student Union, and many others.

As they celebrate 10 years of “Greater Service, Greater Progress” at Georgia Tech, culminating the earning of the Pinnacle Award (Outstanding Chapter of 2012), 5-Star Organization, and Best Philanthropy Program awards, the Sigma Upsilon chapter continues to grow through Sisterhood, Scholarship, and Service.

President: Lorin Ponton