Alpha Phi Alpha

Since its founding on December 4, 1906, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. has supplied voice and vision to the struggle of African-Americans and people of color around the world.

Alpha Phi Alpha, the first intercollegiate Greek-letter fraternity established for African-Americans, was founded at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York by seven college men who recognized the need for a strong bond of Brotherhood among African descendants in this country. The visionary founders, known as the “Jewels” of the Fraternity, are Henry Arthur Callis, Charles Henry Chapman, Eugene Kinckle Jones, George Biddle Kelley, Nathaniel Allison Murray, Robert Harold Ogle, and Vertner Woodson Tandy.

The Nu Mu Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha was founded at the Southern Institute of Technology and then moved to the prestigious Georgia Institute of Technology. The Nu Mu Chapter was founded on the same principles as Alpha Phi Alpha, manly deeds, scholarship, and love for all mankind.

The founders of Nu Mu are chapter are: Larry Hardy, William Saddler, Anthony Thomas, and Ronald Thomas. These four brothers from Alpha Phi chapter, located at Clark College, now Clark Atlanta University, took it upon themselves to begin work on founding the Nu Mu Chapter, which was founded on April 2, 1977. Celebrating over 35 years, the Nu Mu chapter has a very rich history.

Brothers from Nu Mu have not only excelled while at Georgia Tech, but also perpetually hold leadership positions in numerous campus organizations. Currently the New Mu Chapter holds the title for Best Campus Impact for 2011-2012, a 5-Star Organization through its initiatives such as: A STEP in the Right Direction High School Step Show & Scholarship Program, Miss Black & Gold Scholarship Pageant, and the Audacity to Dream Youth Mentorship Program. Leading the way in the Nu Mullennium, we look to continue to hold up the light of Alpha Phi Alpha.

President: Jamal Johnson